Guide
Retirement Visas
What is a retirement visa?
Retirement and independent-income visas let eligible people live abroad using income or resources from outside a local job. Some require a pension; others accept different sources of support. Age and work conditions vary by route.
About this guide
Retiring abroad is a decision about the life you want to enjoy and how to sustain it. A suitable residence route should work with your income and leave room for the needs of your household over time.
This guide compares retirement and independent-income options as a starting point for that decision. Look for routes that accept your type of financial support, then consider the cost and practicalities of living there. Our retirement report explores the wider choice of destination.
Pathways compared
84
Countries covered
70
Filter by
|
|
Passive Income Residency | High (canton-set) | Yes | 55 | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | €50,000/yr (~€4,170/mo) | No — the published guidance expects income plus a separate lump-sum reserve | None | Yes | No |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Individual assessment of sufficient household resources | — | — | Yes | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | AWG 8,334/mo equivalent (AWG 100,000/year) | No; qualifying income from assets or rent is required | 18 | Not stated on the public permit page | Potentially, through a separate ten-year application |
|
|
Retirement Residency | AWG 4,167/mo equivalent for annuity or interest; pension floor not stated | No; income from a listed source is required | 55 | Not stated on the public permit page | Potentially, through a separate ten-year application |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | ~USD $4,000/mo (or AED 1M) | Yes (AED 1M assets) | 55 | Yes | No |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | 2026: €2,616.78 single; €4,128.24 couple; +€403.76 per child | Assets may support the proof, but the official test is regular means | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Resources assessed from the applicant’s circumstances | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | 400% of current IPREM (~€2,400/month at €600 IPREM) | Yes (lump sum) | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | €1,477.93 net as of June 2026 | Yes | None | Yes | Not directly; qualifying lawful residence may support a later long-term-residence application |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Household support assessed under the current visitor checklist | — | — | Yes | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | €2,583/mo | No | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | €3,500 for the main applicant | Own funds may be accepted if amount and lawful origin are proved | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Sufficient foreign income; separate tax commitments apply | — | — | Household health costs must be covered | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | €10,000 gross monthly equivalent; €300,000 in local financial assets also required | — | — | Household health costs must be covered | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | €920/mo | Yes (12 mos in bank) | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | No | No fixed age; the pension must qualify under the applicant's country-of-residence law | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | At least 5 times the current Argentine minimum wage | No | None | Follow current Migraciones health-declaration rules | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | At least 5 times the current Argentine minimum wage | No | None | Follow current Migraciones health-declaration rules | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | No fixed published amount | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $1,500 | — | No stated minimum | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | PAB 1,000 monthly lifetime pension; PAB 750 with qualifying property over PAB 100,000 | No | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $2,500 | — | None | CCSS enrollment is generally required after approval and for renewal | Eligible to seek permanent residence after 3 consecutive years of temporary residence |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,000/mo pension | No | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Sufficient support assessed individually; no universal figure in section 6 | Assets and means of support assessed together | No minimum stated in section 6(2)(b) | Confirm current medical and insurance requirements | Direct permanent-residence application |
|
|
Retirement Residency | THB 65,000 monthly-income option | THB 800,000 deposit option | 50 | Yes | No |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Current Bulgarian pension and subsistence requirements | No replacement for the pension requirement | Pension entitlement, rather than one universal age | Yes | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $2,000 or USD $24,000 yearly | No stated savings-only alternative | 50 | Check current permit requirements | Potential under separate permanent-residence rules |
|
|
Retirement Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Above MXN 133,733.40 in monthly net pension income (2026 formula) | At least MXN 5,378,663.50 average balance (2026 formula) | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Above MXN 79,770.80 in monthly net income (2026 formula) | Above MXN 1,344,372.60 average balance (2026 formula) | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $2,000/mo + USD $250/dependent | No | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $1,500/mo pension + USD $250/dependent | No | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,446 in 2026 | No | None | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,446 in 2026 | No | None stated for the category | Yes | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,000/mo | No | None | No | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $2,000 transferred to Brazil each month | No | None | Yes | A separate continuation or indeterminate-period request is required |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | 10 SMLMV (COP 17,509,050 in 2026) | No | — | Yes | No |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | No | None | Yes | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No fixed amount in the published checklist; confirm accepted support | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No fixed amount published | Documented means of support may include savings | No minimum age published | No insurance test stated; local medical certificate required | Yes |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No universal amount in the published checklist; confirm locally | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Sufficient offshore resources; separate FJD 100,000 funding step | Offshore assets may support the case; completion funding still required | 45 | — | No direct grant or guaranteed progression |
|
|
Retirement Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | TOP 10,000 per year (annual eligibility test) | Regular pension or fund income required; savings alone not established | No numerical age stated; retiree category | — | No direct grant or guaranteed progression |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | Direct permanent-residence application; approval required |
|
|
Retirement Residency | ZAR 37,000 | Qualifying net-worth-derived payment | No fixed age under current rules | Medical records required; insurance is not the core test | Potential through a separate permanent-residence route |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $3,000 | USD $50,000 bank deposit is also required | 55 | Check current E33E requirements | No |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | No fixed monthly income | Qualifying property or financial guarantee | No fixed age stated | Check current E33 requirements | No |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Pensioners: USD $800 single or USD $1,000 with dependents; non-pensioners use a higher deposit | Yes (deposit) | 40 | No | No |
|
|
Retiree Residency | USD $2,000, or USD $24,000 annually | Personal savings can be an approved retirement-income source | 40 | Medical examination and HIV test; no general insurance threshold on the QRP page | No |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No universal amount stated in the cited law; confirm locally | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,200 plus USD $500 per accompanying family member | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retiree Residency | — | No published lump-sum alternative | None stated | — | Yes |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Current DGME requirement must be confirmed; old Law 694 figures are not used | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Current DGME requirement must be confirmed; old Law 694 figures are not used | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $1,250/mo foreign pension; +USD $300 per dependent | — | None | Not specified in the cited category rules | Yes direct permanent residence |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $1,250/mo qualifying income; +USD $300 per dependent | — | None | Not specified in the cited category rules | Yes direct permanent residence |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $1,500/mo foreign pension | — | None | Not specified in the cited category rules | Yes separate inmigrado application after five qualifying years |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $2,500/mo qualifying income | — | None | Not specified in the cited category rules | Yes separate inmigrado application after five qualifying years |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | No | None | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | USD $24,000 per year from accepted sources | — | 35 | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | USD $20,000 per year, plus USD $20,000 bank balance | — | 60, or documented retirement at a younger age | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Confirm the prescribed lifelong support amount; no figure verified | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Authority assesses the evidence; no fixed minimum published | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No universal pension minimum stated in the published checklist | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | Sufficient assured income; no single published threshold | — | 55 | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | No fixed retirement-income minimum published on the permit page | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Retirement Residency | €500 in the Paris consular checklist; confirm the applicable post | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | No fixed amount published; sufficient documented pension income | No savings-only route stated in this pensioner checklist | No fixed age published in the checklist | Not stated in the public checklist | Potential separate application after five uninterrupted years of lawful residence |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | — | — | — | — | — |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Sufficient resources; no universal figure established here | Financial evidence can include savings or accepted sponsorship | No retirement-age rule established by the cited checklist | Yes | No direct grant or guaranteed progression |
|
|
Passive Income Residency | Sufficient resources; no universal figure established here | Financial evidence can include savings or accepted sponsorship | No retirement-age rule established by the cited checklist | Yes | No direct grant or guaranteed progression |
No pathways match that filter.