Citizeo Expand your global options
Report

Digital Nomad Visas Compared by Income Requirement

Key findings

  • Albania, Colombia, Ecuador, Brazil, and Mauritius all sit at or below roughly $1,500/month for a single applicant.
  • Europe clusters much higher: Spain, Cyprus, Malta, Greece, Portugal, Estonia, and Romania all require materially higher monthly income.
  • Some routes use a financial-support test without one comparable monthly figure. Others specify net income or a payment history, which can change the result for the same salary.

A remote salary can clear one country's income requirement and fall short in another. The comparison becomes more complicated for a freelancer whose earnings vary or a household adding dependents: an annual average, recent payment history, and expected future income are not necessarily the same test.

The figures below identify possible financial fits. Official currencies remain visible because exchange rates can change the apparent ranking. The next question is whether the applicant can demonstrate the required kind of income for the period the authority examines.

Compare the full program field: see the digital nomad visa guide.

Pathways with stated monthly income requirements

Country Visa Leads to PR? Minimum income / month
Albania Albania Remote Work Permit Potential under general PR rules ALL 32,000 per person
Colombia Colombia Digital Nomad Visa No COP 5,252,715 in each of the prior 3 months (2026)
Ecuador Ecuador Digital Nomad Visa Yes $1,446
Brazil Brazil Digital Nomad Visa No $1,500
Mauritius Mauritius Premium Visa No $1,500 per adult (+$500/child)
Namibia Namibia Digital Nomad Visa No $2,000
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Digital Nomad Visa No $2,000
Guatemala Residence with a Foreign Employer Separate permanent application after five qualifying years USD $2,000/mo over the prior year; USD $3,000 with dependents; separate international-organization exception
Malaysia Malaysia DE Rantau Nomad Pass No More than $2,000 for IT/digital work; at least $5,000 for other eligible work
Italy Italy Digital Nomad Yes €2,070
Costa Rica Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa No $3,000
Turkey Türkiye Digital Nomad Visa No $3,000
Panama Panama Digital Nomad Visa No $3,000
Moldova Moldova Digital Nomad Potential after separate PR assessment MDL 52,200 in 2026, shown over the prior 6 months
Spain Spain Digital Nomad Visa Yes ~€2,849
Hungary White Card Not a national permanent-residence route €3,000 net per month for the previous 6 months and throughout the stay
South Africa South Africa Remote Work Visa No ZAR 54,233 (ZAR 650,796/year)
United Arab Emirates UAE Virtual Working Programme No $3,500
Cyprus Cyprus Digital Nomad No €3,500
Malta Malta Nomad Permit No €3,500
Greece Greece Digital Nomad Visa Yes €3,500
Barbados Barbados Welcome Stamp No $50,000 expected annual income; about $4,167/month for comparison
Dominica Dominica Work in Nature Visa No $4,167
Portugal Portugal D8 Visa Yes €3,680
Estonia Estonia Digital Nomad Visa No €3,960
Japan Japan Digital Nomad Visa No JPY 833,333 (JPY 10 million/year)
Montserrat Montserrat Remote Worker Stamp No $5,833
Belize Belize Digital Nomad Program No ~$6,250
Romania Romania Digital Nomad No RON 27,816

Read an income threshold as an evidence requirement

A country can test the history of an income stream as well as its size. Bulgaria’s formula uses the previous calendar year, which makes an established payment record more useful than a newly signed contract at a higher salary. Slovenia’s means test moves with average net pay. Neither belongs at a permanent dollar position in the ranking: the applicable period and published benchmark need to be established first.

Dividing an annual requirement by twelve helps compare programs, but it does not change the authority's test. Barbados asks about expected income over the coming year and support for the accompanying family. A single strong month is not the same financial case as dependable annual earnings. Check what documents the program accepts and whether they describe your actual work arrangement. The Parliament-published Remote Employment Act text also requires health coverage for the stay.

Iceland is absent from this remote-work comparison deliberately. Its former long-term visa was repealed in 2026; the current short-term residence permit has defined visit purposes and is not a replacement digital-nomad permission. An older remote-work threshold therefore does not establish a route you can apply for now.

Guatemala’s foreign-employer branch makes the history of the income important: an attractive new offer does not replace a year of qualifying remuneration under the ordinary test. Its separate exception is for employment with an international NGO or international organization and requires employment evidence plus medical insurance. A freelancer with several foreign clients should assess the self-employed branch rather than assume the foreign-employer test fits.

Variable income needs more than a good month

A raise can make a move affordable before it makes an application possible. Hungary’s White Card looks back at income already received, so the first pay stub at a higher salary does not establish the whole required history. Its use of net income also matters: a gross salary that looks comfortably above the table’s figure can leave a smaller amount after deductions.

For a freelancer, timing can be less predictable still. One large project followed by a quiet period may produce a good annual total but weak evidence for a rule applied month by month. The applicant also needs the right working relationship. Hungary’s route covers qualifying foreign employment or ownership in a profitable foreign company; a collection of invoices alone does not establish either.

Montenegro brings a different evidence problem. Its government guidance calls for sufficient support and qualifying work for a foreign company without publishing a single monthly amount on the reviewed page. That leaves more to establish in the application, not a reason to treat it as the cheapest option. An income comparison is most useful when it identifies both what the household can afford and what the applicant can actually prove.

Not ranked: no fixed monthly income threshold

These routes use a formula, balance test, or financial-support assessment that does not fit the fixed monthly comparison above. A figure missing from public guidance should not be read as the absence of a financial requirement.

Country Visa Leads to PR? Income requirement
Andorra Andorra Digital Nomad No Not currently stated
Argentina Argentina Digital Nomad Visa No No fixed minimum
Bulgaria Digital Nomad Residence Limited to an initial year and one further year; a later basis needs separate review Prior-calendar-year gross income of at least 50 times that year’s Bulgarian minimum monthly wage
Cabo Verde Cabo Verde Remote Working Program No No fixed monthly income; bank-balance test applies
Croatia Croatia Digital Nomad Residence No Formula-based means test
Czechia Czechia Digital Nomad Program Potential through a later residence assessment Program inclusion requires qualifying IT or marketing work and income or remuneration of at least 1.5 times the Czech average gross annual salary; the resulting visa depends on whether the applicant is an employee or freelancer
Indonesia Indonesia Remote Worker Residence No The current public E33G page does not state one fixed minimum; confirm the live application checklist
Montenegro Digital Nomad Residence Temporary route; any later settlement needs separate review Sufficient documented support and qualifying foreign-company work; the reviewed government guidance does not give a fixed monthly figure
Slovenia Digital Nomad Residence Nonrenewable one-year permission; any later residence needs another basis Means of at least twice the current Slovenian average net monthly salary
South Korea Korea Workation Visa No 2026 equivalent varies by age and region, currently about KRW 4.368M–8.736M per month
Thailand Thailand DTV No No monthly minimum; funds requirement applies
Uruguay Uruguay Digital Nomad Visa No No fixed minimum

Methodology

Figures are based on the official sources linked below and in the individual pathway guides. Mixed currencies are shown in their official units unless the pathway itself is denominated in US dollars; approximate conversions are planning aids only. "Leads to PR" means time on the route can form part of a clearly documented residence path, not that permanent residence is automatic. The table is ordered broadly from lower to higher income floors, but close positions can change with exchange rates and are not presented as exact ranks. Pathways without a fixed monthly-income threshold are listed separately.

Official source anchors include the Czech Ministry of Industry and Trade's Digital Nomad Program, Indonesian Immigration's current visa inventory, and the South African Department of Home Affairs remote-work requirements. Each linked pathway page contains the country-specific sources used for the remaining entries.

The Guatemala comparison draws on IGM’s current residence regulation, Articles 7, 11–12, and 27. The pathway is the foreign-employer branch of migrant-worker residence, rather than a universally available freelancer visa.

Hungary’s immigration authority supports the White Card income and work-relationship tests; Montenegro’s government guidance supports the separate, unranked support assessment.

Bulgaria and Slovenia were reviewed against the official sources linked on their pathway pages. Both remain outside the fixed monthly ranking because their financial tests use changing statutory benchmarks.

Central Asia: a monthly test and an annual test

Kazakhstan Neo Nomad requires more than USD $3,000 a month, documented over six months. Kyrgyzstan Digital Nomad instead requires at least USD $5,000 in qualifying income over the preceding year and a separate balance of at least USD $3,000. The latter is not a USD $5,000 monthly requirement or a savings alternative. It also has an 11-country passport list and restricted professional fields. See the regional comparison for the initial status and extension steps.

Kenya: confirm the income threshold before comparing prices

Kenya’s Class N Digital Nomad Permit adds a remote-work option for foreign employers or clients. The current application page asks for income records but does not state a minimum; the official legal consolidation reviewed states USD $55,000 annually. An operative official amendment establishing the lower figures advertised elsewhere has not been verified. Confirm the current requirement with Immigration before relying on a lower threshold. The East Africa report explains the difference between this remote-work permit, Kenya’s nonworking Class K permit, and the existing Mauritius Premium Visa.